Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
danerard's blog
19 juin 2009

An Escape to Giverny

Yesterday morning, 7 am, a lot of engines and workers arrived in my street to make a new street...
They made me take my car out of my garden and park in a street near by, and I  understood that coming back home would be a sort of ordeal, so I decided it might be the opportunity to make my annual pilgrimage to Monet's home in Giverny.
And I thought that perhaps there wouldn't be too many people in the place, as it was a week day and the weather was not sunny.
Strange sky, grey but luminous and no rain in view.

On the way, I saw many fields of corn that had suffered from the heavy storms we recently had around here, but it had been a long time since I had last seen so many red poppies in the fields. It was absolutely wonderful.coquelicots
To my extreme surprise, I parked right in front of Monet's house and there was no queue... I told myself that I had had a good idea..
It's only when I entered the gardens that I realized something : the groups' entrance is at the back of the place... And apparently, it was kinder garten's day : kids everywhere!
I just entered the house and came out of it as quickly... Thanks God, it was not my first visit to the house, otherwise, I would have been disappointed.

maison_de_monet_fleurs_bleues

maison_de_monet_vue___gauche

maison_de_monet_balcon

June is probably not the ideal period for this garden, like in my garden, it's a sort of transitory moment : only ancient roses are left, and  it's the reign of poppies.monet_roses_et_pavots

I was surprised to see that nasturtiums and hollyhocks were not yet in bloom, as they are in my garden.hemerocalles_monet

But the splendour of the lily pond was absolute under this sky : we had the reflections on the water, and the  nympheas, in bloom, resplendished in this wonderful light, as the frogs were singing in them...

the_lilly_pond


monet_mufliers_

monet_nympheas_campanules

As usual, i came back following the Seine, but just as  I could see the Eiffel Tower, the Sacré Coeur and La Défense, I realized the traffic was completely blocked if I wanted to go to the north, my direction.. so I took west, and finally, I crossed Paris, along the Seine again.

It was lovely, but long....

when I came home, the road looked almost normal! except it was only made of sand...

And this morning, they're at work again!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
danerard's blog
Publicité
Publicité