Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
danerard's blog
13 mai 2010

How I lost 95 euros....and came home happy...

This morning, I decided to go to Le Louvre.
I thought that as this day was not a working day, I could park on a delivery space, which are normally forbidden.

It allowed me to go through the Palais Royal and have a look at the Buren's columns that have just been repaired, and look absolutely glorious.colonnes_de_buren
Then a glimpse at the metro station, with its pearls, and the newspapers kiosk...metro_palais_royal_mai_2010
I entered the Louvre through the secret little door reserved for those who have their tickets or those like me who have the card of "les Amis du Louvre". A wonderful wooden door on the right under the Passage Richelieu.porte_passage_richelieu
First, I visited the exhibition about the kingdom of Meroe, small, but magnificent, and very few people inside.

Then I went to see another exhibition, which made me cross the painting in the South of France in the 15th century. One of the beauties of this museum is that you always get lost, and discover some new paintings you had never seen before, like this christ, that could almost be a Nabis..crucifixion_de_eyck

The second exhibition was extremely interesting, paintings of the 17th and 18th century, a private collection. And I was absolutely alone in it.. St_Pierre

But after all these marvels, I wanted to go home, and to my utmost surprise, there were thousands of visitors in the Louvre.. You had to fight to get out, as they all wanted to get in, and were rushing like mads...

Outside, the queue was important, but the view to the Arch of Triumph of the Carrousel, seen from the fountains could make you think you were alone..arc_du_carroussel_bassin

So, back to the Palais Royal, the bistrot's tables : empty...chaises_de_bistrot_palais_royal the gallery... empty..the shops being closed, like this vintage boutique.vintage_clothes

Back to the street where I was parked, I went up the stairs of this little passage,passage_potier had a friendly discussion with the men up there, and when I came down the stairs, I realized I had lost my precious card of the Louvre...

So I went back all the way to try and find it... But it was nowhere... 60 euros lost. I only hope they will admit I lost it, and I will be able to get another one!

Back to my car, I had a fine... Apparently, you're not supposed to park on those delivery places.. Even on a Sunday!
35 euros...
This is how I lost 95 euros, but came home happy, as I had seen so many beautiful things....

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
danerard's blog
Publicité
Publicité